L&E Global Webinars

Transferring Personal Data from the EU to the U.S.

Thursday 2 December 2021
6:00 PM Central European Time
5:00 PM GMT Time
Noon Eastern Time
» Register!

In this webinar we will discuss the latest developments in GDPR requirements for cross border transfers and adequate transfer mechanisms, including ‘new’ EU Standard Contractual Clauses (SCC), transfer impact assessments, the impact of U.S. surveillance laws, and issues relating to contracts with business partners, service providers and other third parties. We will also touch on how the U.K.’s proposed transfer risk assessment process differs from the new EU SCCs. In this webinar the experts will share their perspectives, best practices and case studies for employee data while answering your questions regarding transferring data from the European Union to the United States.

Speakers:
Mary Costigan, moderator (Jackson Lewis in United States)
Richard Otevrel (Havel & Partners in Czech Republic)
Helena Tapp Barroso (Morais Leitão in Portugal)
Michael Witteler (Pusch Wahlig Workplace Law in Germany)

Mandatory vaccination and remote work: what are the possibilities for employers?

Tuesday 7 December 2021
11:00 AM Mexico
Noon Eastern Time & Colombia
1:00 PM Argentina & Brazil & Chile
» Register!

Now that more and more employees are returning to the office, there is a fine balance for employers between requiring work at the office, agreeing to remote work, and ensuring safe working environment. How can we establish a uniform approach to cross-border remote work and vaccination issues, that treats employees equitably and protects the company from unnecessary exposures? In this webinar the panel of experts will discuss the challenges and share best practices concerning key issues such as:

  • Can an employer impose a mandatory vaccination requirement and if not, what alternatives are there?
  • If a mandate is permissible, must exceptions or accommodations be made on religious or medical grounds?
  • What types of disciplinary action may be taken against employees who refuse to be vaccinated?
  • What are the wage-hour implications of time expended getting vaccinations or leaves due to vaccination side effects?
  • Is the employer that requires vaccination liable for expenses or damages arising from illness or injury sustained through an adverse reaction to the vaccine?
  • If the employer does not require vaccination, must it accommodate employees who refuse to work with unvaccinated employees?
  • Can an employer that chooses not to require vaccination instead incentivise employees to be vaccinated (e.g. through bonuses, vouchers, additional time off, etc.)?
  • What are the main labour implications and risks of remote work in Latin America?
  • What elements are key to define internal protocols and policies in order to regulate remote work?

Speakers:
Alejandro Castellanos (Lopez & Asociados Abogados in Colombia)
Nicolas Grandi (Allende & Brea in Argentina)
Gabriela Lima (TozziniFreire in Brazil)
Angelina Salegna Bacó (Sanchez & Salegna in the Dominican Republic)
Jimena Sanchez (De La Vega & Martínez Rojas in México)
John Sander, moderator (Jackson Lewis in United States)
Ricardo Tisi (Cariola Díez Pérez-Cotapos in Chile)

How to deal, as an employer, with mandatory vaccinations, remote work arrangements, and COVID passports in Asia-Pacific?

Wednesday 19 January 2022
6:00 PM Australia Eastern Time
4:00 PM Japan Time
3:00 PM China Time & Singapore Time
12:30 PM India Time
» Register!

and

Wednesday 19 January 2022
• 6:00 PM Central European Time
• Noon PM Eastern Time
» Register!

The COVID-19 vaccine rollout is underway throughout the globe, and employers worldwide are confronted with complex issues as they protect the health and safety of their workforces while avoiding infringement of the rights of individual employees. In this webinar, we will discuss some of the hot topics in relation to the COVID-19 pandemic in the Asia-Pacific region, such as the possibilities for employers regarding mandatory vaccination, remote work, but also, COVID passports and health & safety protocols in the office.

In this webinar a panel of lawyers from Australia, China, India, Japan and Singapore will answer all your questions and share best practices.

Speakers:

Avik Biswas (IndusLaw in India)
Yinbing Chen (Zhong Lun Law Firm in China)
Thomas Choo (Clyde & Co Clasis in Singapore)
Tatsuo Yamashima (Atsumi & Sakai in Japan)
 Amy Zhang (Harmers Workplace Lawyers in Australia)